Illinois State Police Home Illinois State Police Brendan F. Kelly, Director
Brendan F.

Governor JB Pritzker

Agency Links

Winter Road Conditions
ISP Fallen Officers Memorial
Illinois State Police Memorial Park
Agencies, Boards & Commissions
Illinois Amber Alert
National Center for Missing and Exploited Children
Inspector General
Illinois Department of Human Rights
Cutting the Red Tape

  Illinois State Police News Release   

diagonal image

Illinois State Police Host The 21th Annual Law Enforcement Medal Of Honor Ceremony

ISP Seal
Press Release Date: June 20, 2014    || Archived February 4, 2016

 Families of Fallen Officers Presented With Posthumous Medal of Honor

SPRINGFIELD, IL – Illinois State Police (ISP) Director Hiram Grau and the Members of the Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee were at the Executive Mansion in Springfield today to award the Medal of Honor to sixteen law enforcement officers representing seven police agencies throughout Illinois. 

ISP Director Grau and the committee members awarded the Medal of Honor posthumously to the families of two officers who were killed in the line of duty - Illinois State Police Trooper James M. Sauter and Pontiac Officer Casey J. Kohlmeier.

The officers honored at this year’s ceremony make a total to 358 officers to receive Illinois’ highest honor since the inception of this prestigious award.  The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Act was signed into law in 1990 with the first ceremony being held in 1992, making this honor the first of its kind in Illinois. 

The Law Enforcement Medal of Honor has long been considered the “Governor’s Award.”

This honor is presented only to those law enforcement officers who have been killed or seriously injured in the line of duty or who have displayed exceptional bravery or heroism while performing their enforcement duties. 

“It is a great privilege to pay tribute to our heroes here today,” said ISP Director Hiram Grau. “The brave recipients we are here to honor remind all of us of the serious nature of law enforcement and the risks that our brave officers face each day while protecting the people of Illinois.” he added.

Every year, Medal of Honor nominees are presented to the Illinois Law Enforcement Medal of Honor Committee for consideration.  Committee members include the ISP Director as well as representatives from other Illinois law enforcement agencies.

Awardees by Department

Boone County Sheriff’s Department

Deputy David A. Mordt

Deputy Austin M. Schmitt


Calumet City Police Department

Detective James R. Burnett                                       


Chicago Police Department

Sergeant James D. Cascone

Officer Nelson Lopez

Officer Chris Skarupinski

Officer Lawrence R. Williams

Officer Ronald D. Coleman

Officer Jeff Rumbaugh

Officer Paul Sandoval


Illinois Conservation Police

Officer Steven T. Francisko       


Illinois State Police

Trooper James M. Sauter (Posthumously)      

Trooper Brad R. Williams       


Park Ridge Police Department

Officer Kristen Abbinante

Officer Carlos Panizo


Pontiac Police Department

Officer Casey J. Kohlmeier  (Posthumously)             

Illinois State Police Director Hiram Grau welcomed this year’s recipients, family members, command staff and other attendees and congratulated the awardees for their exemplary service to the citizens of Illinois. 

The Illinois State Police trumpet unit played the National Anthem, followed by the ISP Chaplain Reverend Delbert Penrod, who performed the invocation and benediction.  WICS Newschannel 20 Liz Foster graciously narrated the awards presentation. 

Additional information about the event and a list Law Enforcement Medal of Honor recipients are attached and can be viewed on the ISP website at:

For more information contact:
Public Information Office
Telephone: (217) 782-6637
TDD: (800) 255-3323

Agency Features

Statewide 911
Firearms Services
Sex Offender Information
Missing Illinois Sex Offenders
Murderer and Violent Offender Against Youth Information
Methamphetamine Manufacturer Registry
Uniform Crime Reporting
Take the ISP Citizen Survey
Medicaid Fraud
Become a Trooper
Ending Opioid Misuse
Illinois Crash Report
Illinois Bicentennial
Copyright © 2019 Illinois State Police Site Map | ISP Privacy | Illinois Privacy Info | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility | Contact Us