Firearms Owners Identification (FOID) card holders and Concealed Carry License (CCL) holders, who submit their renewal application will remain valid during the duration of the state’s disaster proclamation and for a period of 12 months following the termination of the disaster, even if their renewal application is/was not submitted prior to expiration. Renewal CCL holders will need to submit proof of their three-hour renewal training within 12 months following the termination of the state’s disaster proclamation in order to maintain the validity of their CCL. The Illinois State Police will continue to enforce both FOID card and CCL prohibitors. FOID card holders who receive revocation notices shall return their FOID and Firearm Disposition Record form to the Illinois State Police. CCL holders who receive revocation notices shall return their CCL to the Illinois State Police.
The emergency rules are effective immediately; however, the requisite processes and programming to accurately reflect these rule changes are currently being completed. As a result, the system may not accurately reflect a FOID or CCL status until such changes are completed. The Illinois State Police encourages FOID card holders and CCL holders to print and retain a copy of their confirmation from their submitted renewal application as additional verification of compliance with the 430 ILCS 65/ Firearm Owners Identification Card Act and 430 ILCS 66/ Firearm Concealed Carry Act with consideration for the emergency rules. Thank you for your patience as we work to have these changes made in as timely a manner as this emergency situation allows.